Daylight Saving Time 2023 in United States: Unveiling the States That Say ‘No’ to Daylight Savings”

As we approach that time of the year in the United States when the clocks change, it’s essential to grasp the concept of Daylight Saving Time 2023 (DST). In this article, we’ll explore the history and significance of DST and shed light on the states that choose not to observe it.

What Is Daylight Savings Time?

Daylight Savings Time 2023, often referred to as Daylight Time or Summer Time, is a practice where clocks are set forward during the summer months. But why do we have this tradition, and which states have opted out of it?

The History of Daylight Savings Time

In 1966, Congress passed the Uniform Time Act to standardize Daylight Savings Time, which would run from March to November. This legislation meant that Daylight Savings Time would begin on the second Sunday of March each year and conclude on the first Sunday of November. But why was it introduced in the first place?

The Agricultural Connection

Historically, Daylight Savings Time had significant value for farmers. It provided them with an extra hour of daylight, allowing more time for cultivating and harvesting crops. This not only benefitted farmers but also had a positive impact on the wider community and the nation.

Energy Conservation and Reduced Crime

The Department of Transportation (DOT) has supported the idea that Daylight Savings Time helps save energy, reduce traffic injuries, and lower crime rates. The extended daylight hours encourage energy-saving practices and contribute to safer evenings.

The Upcoming Time Change

It’s important to note that Daylight Savings Time is not permanent. On Sunday, November 5th, at 02:00, you’ll need to set your clocks back by one hour, granting everyone an extra hour of sleep.

States That Don’t Observe Daylight Savings Time

While most states in the U.S. observe Daylight Savings Time, there are two exceptions: Arizona and Hawaii. Their reasons for opting out are compelling.

Arizona’s Unique Choice

Arizona, known for its warm climate and extended daylight hours throughout the year, has chosen not to observe Daylight Savings Time. The residents prefer to maintain a consistent time schedule without the need to adjust their clocks. However, it’s essential to note that within Arizona, the Navajo Nation does observe Daylight Saving Time.

Hawaii’s Equatorial Advantage

Hawaii’s location near the equator results in minimal variation in daylight hours throughout the year. The sun rises and sets around the same time daily, making Daylight Savings Time unnecessary.

Other Non-Observing Territories

In addition to Arizona and Hawaii, several U.S. territories do not observe Daylight Savings Time. These include Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and Guam.

The Movement for Permanent Daylight Savings Time 2023

In recent years, a growing number of states have passed legislation to move to permanent Daylight Savings Time. These states are:

  • Alabama
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Washington State
  • Wyoming

These states are keen on ensuring a consistent time schedule throughout the year and have recognized the benefits of a year-round DST system.


As Daylight Savings Time 2023 comes to an end for most Americans on Sunday, November 5th, it’s crucial to understand the history, significance, and the states that don’t observe it. Whether you “gain” an extra hour of sleep or not, the reasons behind the time change are deeply rooted in history, energy conservation, and safety.

In the coming years, we may witness more states making the transition to permanent Daylight Savings Time. For now, it’s crucial to stay informed about the time changes and whether your state is among those embracing or bypassing this practice.

Understanding Daylight Savings Time allows us to appreciate the significance of timekeeping and the decisions made by various states to enhance their residents’ lives.

Remember, on November 5th, don’t forget to “fall back” and enjoy that extra hour of sleep, unless you live in Arizona or Hawaii.


1. What is the purpose of Daylight Savings Time?

Daylight Savings Time was introduced to extend evening daylight hours in the summer, with the aim of conserving energy.

2. Why do Arizona and Hawaii not observe Daylight Savings Time?

Arizona and Hawaii do not observe DST due to their unique climates and minimal variation in daylight hours, making the practice unnecessary.

3. Which states are looking to implement permanent Daylight Savings Time?

Several states, including Alabama, Colorado, Delaware, and others, have passed legislation to move to permanent Daylight Savings Time, pending federal approval.

4. How does Daylight Savings Time impact energy conservation and safety?

Daylight Savings Time is believed to save energy, reduce traffic injuries, and lower crime rates by extending daylight hours.

5. When does Daylight Savings Time begin and end?

In the United States, Daylight Savings Time typically begins on the second Sunday of March and ends on the first Sunday of November.

हेलो दोस्तों, मेरा नाम आयुष्मान है, मै pradumtutor ब्लॉग का संस्थापक हूँ। मुझे टेक्नॉलजी में बहुत interest है, मुझे टेक्नॉलजी से सम्बंधित आर्टिकल लिखना बहुत पसंद है।

Leave a Comment